Saturday, April 20, 2013

General Election (GE) 13 : Sungai Siput 01

Published: Saturday April 20, 2013 MYT 10:40:00 AM
Updated: Saturday April 20, 2013 MYT 12:52:30 PM

GE13: Sungai Siput sees fight between Devamany, Jeyakumar and independent

SUNGAI SIPUT: The Sungai Siput parliamentary and the Jalong state seats will see three-cornered fights.

MIC vice president Datuk S.K Devamany is the candidate for the parliamentary seat, while incumbent Dr Michael Jeyakumar from Parti Sosialis Malaysia, who is standing under the PKR ticket is the candidate from the opposition.

The independent candidate is first timer S.P Nagalingam, 46, a businessman whose application to contest for the Lintang state seat was rejected as his proposer was not a voter in the Lintang constituency.

Former Sungai Siput MP Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu was the proposer for Devamany while Sungai Siput Umno wanita division chief Sharifah Mohd Tamin was the seconder.

As for the Lintang state seat Sungai Siput Umno division chief Datuk Zolkafly Harun will contest against the opposition candidate for Lintang is Ahmad Mazlan Othman from PAS.

Independent candidate for the Jalong state seat S. Kalimuthu, 53, a former Gerakan member would contest against Barisan candidate Liew Yew Aw and Loh Sze Yee from DAP..

For more election stories, please visit The Star's GE13 site

No comments: